Have a Question?
< All Topics

Who can i pay my Zakat to?

Table of Contents

Those eligible to receive Zakat are mentioned in the following verse of the Holy Qur’an:
Indeed, [prescribed] charitable offerings are only [to be given] to the poor and the indigent, and to those who work on [administering] it, and to those whose hearts are to be reconciled, and to [free] those in bondage, and to the debt-ridden, and for the cause of God, and to the wayfarer. [This is] an obligation from God. And God is all-knowing, all-wise. [Al-Tawbah, 9:60

  1. 1. The poor (al-fuqarâ’), meaning low-income or indigent
  2. 2. The needy (al-masâkîn), meaning someone who is in difficulty
  3. 3. Zakat administrators
  4. 4. Those whose hearts are to be reconciled, meaning new Muslims and friends of the Muslim community
  5. 5. Those in bondage (slaves and captives)
  6. 6. The debt-ridden
  7. 7. In the cause of God
  8. 8. The wayfarer, meaning those who are stranded or traveling with few resources

and Allah knows best